The CGIF maintains a tradition established in 1951 to provide academic and industry scientists an international forum to present the latest advances in our understanding of gastrointestinal microbiology, (immuno)physiology and nutritional sciences.

The topics presented at the Congress include studies with livestock and poultry species for food production and biomedical research, as well as clinical and nutritional studies relevant to improving human health and well-being. Research that addresses the environmental and public health impacts from gastrointestinal microbiology (e.g. the ecology of antibiotic resistance, food safety, and waste management) is also welcome.

The 2015 Congress will be held at the Gleacher Center, located close to Chicago's "Magnificent Mile", and we're proud to recruit an excellent group of plenary speakers (please visit the "Invited Speakers" page). Submission of abstracts by all attendees is encouraged. The abstract submissions will be used by the Congress' scientific committee to select oral presentations for the 4 sessions, with dedicated space for poster presentation throughout the Congress and a formal poster session also included in the schedule for Tuesday evening with the mixer.

An additional feature of the 2015 meeting will be the Hungate 1000 Rumen Microbial Genomes Workshop to be held on Monday morning. This Workshop will provide an update and progress on sequencing rumen microbial genomes as well as invited speakers discussing strategies and applications for using this resource.

Also we are pleased to announce that the Congress established the JB Russell Young Scientist Awards for the best oral and the best poster presentation by junior scientists. The 2013 awardees were: Best Oral Presentations – Emily Henriksen (Postdoc, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) and Tim Hackmann (PhD student, The Ohio State University, USA), and Best Poster Presentations – Elizabeth Cameron (PhD student, University of Michigan, USA) and Elie Jamie (Institute for Animal Sciences, ARO, Israel).

Please explore our website for more details and we invite you to attend our next Congress, scheduled to be held in Chicago, April 13-15, 2015.

Rod Mackie, Chair 2015, University of Illinois, USA

CGIF Committee: Jane A.Z. Leedle (JL Microbiology, Inc.); Isaac K.O. Cann (University of Illinois) and Jeffrey L. Firkins (The Ohio State University).

1800 S. Oak Street, Suite 100
Champaign, Illinois 61820-6974
Phone: (217) 356-3182
Fax: (217) 398-4119